#TIFF13 Recap: Bright Days Ahead (Les Beaux Jours) Movie Premiere


Hi there,

IMG_6160

Thanks to the fabulous folks at Mongrel Media, I won passes for 4 to the premiere movie called Bright Days Ahead (Les Beaux Jours) starring Fanny Ardant!

IMG_6143

IMG_6157

I was so excited to be seated next to the talent in the film.  It was quite a whirlwind experience and I fully enjoyed just being a ‘movie-goer’.  Don’t misunderstand me though, while I adore covering events and am grateful to be invited to them, sometimes the best means of decompressing comes in the form of being a simple spectator.

IMG_6164

As I took my place in the cozy fold-down seats at Roy Thompson Hall, I experienced the animated and devoted nature of the ‘fans of film’.  It’s a culture and environment I hadn’t partaken in for some time so it was incredibly rewarding to do so now. From the spirited laughter, the exuberant cheers, to the pirate “Arrrrs” when a copyright notice appeared on screen– it reminded me how wonderful it was to watch a movie with people who are supportive and optimistic rather than critical and skeptical.

IMG_6162

It made me remember the purpose of the Toronto International Film Festival… a celebration of artistic, creative minds and showcasing these talents on the big, bright screen.  It’s interesting to note all these emotions I felt but after speaking with a few PR industry folks, it seems to be the norm to be caught up in the organizational aspects of TIFF but being unable to carve out time to see a film!  (*Hint! This is my next post– I attended a panel of speakers, those of which included executives from The Weinstein Company!)

IMG_6151

IMG_6158

Bright Days Ahead is a bit of a pseudo-romantic comedy about a recently retired dentist named Caroline dite Caro (played by Ardant). As a gift, one of her daughters gives her a pass to Bright Days Ahead– essentially an ‘older/mature’ folks home where participants are free to sign up for workshops that enrich their lives.  As she is trying to hit her stride with the activities offered, in a series of events, she attends a computer class in the hopes of learning how to solve her internet woes at home with her husband.  Unknowingly, she enters into a dalliance with her younger ‘playboy’ instructor named Julien (Laurent Lafitte).

IMG_6150

As the number of trysts rise, the chance of being found out increases– including by her husband Philippe played by Patrick Chesnais… and the entire town, it appears.  As a dentist in a tight-knit community, she’s always been unavoidably in the spotlight.  As she posits, “I know half the town and the other half knows me!”  It is a heartfelt story and I encourage you to watch it to find out what happens in this twisted lust-love triangle.

IMG_6166

IMG_6165

IMG_6163

IMG_6161

IMG_6152

IMG_6153

IMG_6154

IMG_6155

IMG_6156   IMG_6159   IMG_6144

A warm THANK YOU and MERCI goes to Mongrel Media for awarding me tickets to see this film 🙂

Leave a comment